Polar Bear Club is an American Post-hardcore/Punk rock band from Rochester and Syracuse, upstate New York. Formed in 2005, the band currently consists of vocalist Jimmy Stadt, lead guitarist Chris Browne, rhythm guitarist Nate Morris, bass guitarist Erik Michael "Goose" Henning and drummer Steve Port.


Formation (2005):

Polar Bear Club formed in summer 2005 with its members coming from a variety of upstate New York-based hardcore punk and indie rock bands. Their influences are said to include Small Brown Bike, Third Eye Blind, Silent Majority, Hot Water Music and Lifetime. The band's name comes from a song of the same name by Silent Majority.

Quickly after forming they released a five-song demo CD-R, which has since gone out of print.

Signing (2006-2007):

Shortly after the release of their well received demo EP, they were noticed by Triple Attack Records, who released their first EP, The Redder, the Better, in May 2006 in conjunction with Luchador Records. The EP received rave reviews by webzines and made a number of year-end "best of" lists, topping the list on Australian radio Triple R's Bullying The Jukebox program. The succuess also garnered the band enough notice for Red Leader Records to sign them in July 2007. This EP is now out of print on CD, but has since been made available for digital download and on 12" vinyl.

Debut full-length and Bridge 9 (2008-2009):

The band's debut full-length, Sometimes Things Just Disappear, was released in March 2008, also receiving glowing reviews from an even wider number of webzines and great reception from their rapidly growing fanbase. More appearances in "best of" lists followed, as well as tours with The Gaslight Anthem, American Steel, Crime in Stereo, A Wilhelm Scream and Cancer Bats, leading to the band's signing to Bridge Nine Records, officially announced on January 8, 2009. Label owner Chris Wrenn said the following in regards to the bands signing:


We couldn't be more excited to add Polar Bear Club to the family. This was one of the best and easiest decisions we've made and it's a great way to start off 2009. Not only are they an incredible band, but they know who they are and what they want to be-and they fit in perfect perfectly with the way B9 is growing.



The label at the same time announced they would issue Sometimes Things Just Disappear on vinyl sometime during spring. On March 19 the vinyl was made available for pre-order, with a shipping start date set for March 24, even though its official release date was April 7.

Sophomore full-length (2009-present):

In February/March 2009, the band toured the UK and Europe with The Gaslight Anthem and Frank Turner, with a small string of UK headlining dates subsequent to the tour. During the European visit, they announced plans to return for a US tour with labelmates Have Heart. They also announced that they were to start work on a new album, to be produced by Matt Bayles.

On May 28, 2009, the title and release date of the bands second full-length, Chasing Hamburg, set to release on September 8, was announced in a press release. In compliance to the press release, the album was released on the previously announced date through Bridge Nine Records on both 12" vinyl and CD.

On June 21, 2010 the Chasing Hamburg b-side "Drifting Thing (Team Goldie Remix)" was posted for exclusive streaming at AbsolutePunk.net and was released by Bridge 9 Records as a 7 inch record (limited to a pressing of 500) during their Fall 2010 Mystery Box Sale. On August 8, 2010 they will play at the Hevy Music Festival held near Folkestone, Kent in the UK.

On one of the early tour dates for The AP Fall Ball 2010, Polar Bear Club announced they will be taking the next six months after the tour ends to write and record a new album.

On October 30 they were announced as the replacement act for Alesana on the 2011 Australian festival Soundwave. Whilst in Australia, the group also performed some select sideshows along acts such as Terror, Fucked Up and The Bronx.

Third full-length (2011-present):

The band entered Salad Days Studio to record their third album, Clash Battle Guilt Pride.

Band members

Current members:

Jimmy Stadt - vocals (since 2005),

Chris Browne - guitar, vocals (since 2005),

Nate Morris - guitar (since 2006),

Erik Michael "Goose" Henning - bass guitar (since 2008),

Steve Port - drums (since 2012),

Former members:

Kevin Mahoney - guitar (2005-2006),

Josh Dillon - bass guitar (2005),

Greg Odom - bass guitar (2005-2008),

Bob O'Neil - drums (2005-2006),

Emmett Menke - drums (2006-2011),

Tyler Mahurin - drums (2011-2012)