Fattburger is a jazz group, best categorized in the jazz-funk, contemporary jazz, or jazz fusion subgenres. The band was formed by saxophonist Hollis Gentry, keyboardist Carl Evans Jr., bassist Mark Hunter, drummer Kevin Koch, and guitarist Steve Laury in San Diego during the early 1980s. Tommy Aros soon joined as a percussionist.

After their first album, Hollis Gentry left the band to launch his solo career (but came back as a part-time member in the 1990s) and after the release of Come & Get It, Steve Laury also left to embark on a solo career. As a result, their next album, "On A Roll," was the first recording of Fattburger as a four-piece band (although Kiko Cibrian and Mike Shapiro appeared as studio guitarists). Guitarist Evan Marks joined the band as a permanent member in 1995. After their latest album, Work to Do (2004), Hollis Gentry died on 5 September 2006 and Carl Evans Jr. died on 10 April 2008.

Later, Fattburger regrouped to play live at the Anthology jazz club on 26 June 2009, featuring Allan Phillips as a new keyboardist. Today the band is still touring.

Fattburger's most commercially successful CDs were Sizzlin' and T.G.I.F.attburger!, although the best representations of their contemporary jazz-funk style may have been five earlier albums: On a Roll, Good News, Living in Paradise, Come and Get It, and Time Will Tell.